Four new housing zones announced

Wed 8th July 2015, 2:01 pm

Mayor of London Boris Johnson has announced four new housing zones, set to deliver over 12,000 new homes, including 3,500 which he said will be affordable.

The new zones are located in the London boroughs of Havering, Enfield, Redbridge and Tower Hamlets.

Fifteen out of 20 zones have now been announced. Housing zones receive specific grants and funding to speed up the delivery of new homes.  So far 45,109 new homes have been funded.

Boris Johnson, mayor of London, said: "Housing zones will provide the swift delivery of new homes for Londoners that is so desperately needed and create entirely new, highly-connected urban districts for generations to come.

"By freeing up empty brownfield sites from lengthy approval processes and providing a funding boost, we can ensure new housing capacity is created in areas where it might never otherwise have happened."


Back to news index